Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Texas electrician license RENEWAL Questions

How does the electrical license renewal process work in Texas?
In order to RENEW a Texas State electrical license, you must;
---
{You should ALWAYS renew your license BEFORE it expires! It is illegal to perform electrical work (requiring a license) if your license is expired!}

- - 1. Each year, you must obtain the required Continuing Education. (CE LawsSee Sec. 1305.168. Continuing Education.)
----You can obtain all of your required Continuing Education
Online Electrician CEHERE by purchasing a course from us, and then completing it.
- -
2. We will notify the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation that you have obtained the required Continuing
- - - Education.

We offer the required continuing education online, right now.... Right HERE

NEW LAW: Continuing education is required for renewing electrical apprentice licenses if the licensee is not enrolled in an approved apprenticeship training program. The change in law applies to the renewal of a license that expires on or after September 1, 2010. This amendment does NOT apply to electrical sign apprentices.

UPDATE: Sign apprentices renewing their licenses on or after September 1, 2012 must have either continuing education or apprenticeship training program hours for license renewal.

You must obtain the required continuing education before license renewal (except for contractors, and Residential Appliance installers). You should complete continuing education BEFORE your license expires (you can do this at anytime during the year preceding your license expiration, so do it early), and renew your license BEFORE it expires.

---3. You must then contact the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to renew your license.
-- - -- The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, is the ONLY agency that can renew your state electrical license!

Can I renew my Texas Electricians license online?
Yes!
 Provided you have met all of the state requirements, you will be able renew your electrician license online by clicking
Electricians License Renewal LinkHERE.

It is illegal to work with an expired license, and can become VERY costly if you are caught performing non-exempt electrical work. An expired license will cost you 1 & 1/2 times the normal license renewal fee if it has been expired for less than 90 days, and it will cost you 2 times the normal license renewal fee if expired more than 90 days but less than 18 months.

You may be subject to enforcement actions, including administrative penalties and sanctions, for operating with an expired license (expired less than 18 months) or operating without a license (expired 18 months or more).

If your license has been expired for more than 18 months but less than three years, you may submit a “Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal” form with the required renewal fee.

If your license has been expired for more than three years you may not renew your license. You must apply for a new license.

You gain nothing by allowing your license to expire, but risk very high fines, and/or possible imposition of administrative penalties by the state.

Other Useful LinksOther Useful Links


email linkE-mail us at:E-mail us The Direct Learning Resource